Whānuitanga o te wainga
Scopes of practice

Under the Act, every nurse has a scope of practice.
The three scopes of practice are:

  • Enrolled Nurse
  • Registered Nurse
  • Nurse Practitioner.

Conditions placed in scope of practice

The Act allows the Council to include conditions in a nurse’s scope of practice describing the specific area of practice they may work in, for example, "may practice in general and obstetric nursing". These conditions relate to the pre-registration education completed by the nurse.

The Council can also place other conditions in a nurse's scope of practice to ensure competence or safety of the public. Examples of these conditions include the requirement to complete professional development hours or to practice under supervision. Not all conditions are displayed on the public register and employers can contact the Council for more information.


Ngā Tuku Mai

See each section for relevant downloads
Enrolled nurse
Registered nurse
Nurse practitioner  
Change of condition